7710 West Saginaw Hwy Lansing MI 48917
517 - 323 - 8500

2017 Community Awards

Delta Township Announces the 2017 Community Awards Recipients

Delta Township hosted the 12th Annual Delta Township Community Awards Event on October 26 at the Crowne Plaza Lansing West.  Over 200 people gathered to celebrate the outstanding individuals, businesses, and organizations that were honored during the event.

The Township presented five awards this year including Business of the Year, Community Organization of the Year, Young Person of the Year, Citizen of the Year and the Township Legacy Award.  The Young Person of the Year was also presented with a $2,000 Scholarship sponsored by the Delta Side Business Association.

Pictured (L to R) Business of the Year Award Recipients Carl Buonodono & Megan Buonodono representing EagleMonk Pub & Brewery, Delta Township Supervisor Kenneth R. Fletcher, Young Person of the Year Award Recipient Charlie Mora, Citizen of the Year Award Recipient Gloria Kovnot, Community Organization of the Year Award Recipients Karin Straub & Pastor Roger Straub representing Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, Delta Township Legacy Award Recipient Dorothy E. Maxwell, and Delta Township Clerk Mary R. Clark.

(Photos courtesy of John Douglas Photography.)

The 2017 Business of the Year was presented to EagleMonk Pub and Brewery.  EagleMonk Pub and Brewery offers craft beer, wine, soda and fresh pizza made on premises. They are a microbrewery and feature a warm, welcoming atmosphere, not to mention their 9 beers they have on tap.  The brewery is extremely proud to have been the first business of its kind to open in Delta Township.  Since its opening, EagleMonk’s owners Dan and Sonia Buonodono have been active community members sponsoring sports teams, hosting charity events for local food banks, donating to local schools, and have also sponsored the Delta Township Community Awards.

The 2017 Community Organization of the Year was presented to Good Shepherd Lutheran Church.  Good Shepherd Lutheran Church has been part of the fabric of Delta Township for over half a century, during which time it has made a multitude of contributions to the quality of life and well-being of the township and its citizens. Among their contributions are: the Lansing Blind Mission, bi-weekly free community dinners, Thanksgiving and Christmas food baskets for the needy, Christmas gifts for victims housed in area domestic violence shelters, back to school clothes for children in need, collecting school supplies for area schools, providing free water at Delta Township concerts and events, and creating and distributing handmade quilts to local shelters, and to people in need worldwide.

The 2017 Young Person of the Year Award was presented to Charlie Mora.  Charlie Mora is a senior at Lansing Catholic High School and was nominated for his dedication and excellence in academics, athletics, the arts, and volunteerism. Mr. Mora excels in both the classroom and on the tennis court as a member of the Varsity Tennis team. Charlie promotes teamwork and good sportsmanship and spent some time volunteering as the school mascot, Kyle the Cougar, leading the crowd in cheering on the Lansing Catholic Cougars during sporting events. Charlie has traveled to Owensboro, Kentucky during summer breaks to volunteer with Habitat for Humanity, serving others and bringing hope to those who need it most. Charlie has served in leadership roles many times in Youth Group at St. Gerard, especially during retreats and has helped to organize several youth nights.

The 2017 Citizen of Year Award was presented to Gloria Kovnot.  For several years, Gloria Kovnot had a vision for enhanced services and programs for senior residents in Delta Township. Through her dogged determination and perseverance, she met with elected officials and township leaders, attended township meetings and continued to advance the notion that quality programs and services would not only enhance the quality of life in Delta Township but would both attract and retain seniors. Because of her actions, Delta Township Seniors have more organized opportunities for community engagement that have resulted in enhancements to our parks and the greater community’s awareness of them. Members of the Delta Senior Council have also become more aware of programs and services and can now serve as advocates for Delta Township.

Dorothy E. Mawell - CopyThe 2017 Delta Township Legacy Award was presented to Dorothy E. Maxwell.  Dorothy E. Maxwell is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Max Weingar Group, a Lansing-based management consulting firm focused on workforce and organizational competence. As well, she actively engages with humanitarian, transportation, economic, and community development concerns.

Maxwell has wide-ranging experience in organization development, public policy, management, talent development, human resources, and nonprofit leader­ship. She is respected for her proficiency, integrity, and effectiveness as a consultant and group leader, and is acclaimed for her ability to create and engage strategic alliances in achieving desired outcomes. Her work with organizations often includes group facilitation, public speaking, and strategic planning.

Hers is a well-established history in public service and community volunteerism in the Greater Lansing Community. Currently, she serves her community as an Eaton County Road Commissioner, a Tri-County Regional Planning Commissioner, is Past Chairperson for both the Capital Area United Way and the Greater Lansing Con­vention and Visitors Bureau. She is a Board Director for Eaton Community Palliative Care, is a member of the local Governing Body of ATHENA PowerLink (a business mentoring program designed to increase growth and profitability of women-owned businesses), serves on the Quality and Safety Committee of Sparrow Specialty Hospi­tal and is a volunteer with AARP. Maxwell is a dedicated leader of Christian education at Trinity AME Church. She serves as a District Trustee of the African Methodist Episcopal Church and is a member of Delta Sigma Theta, a public service Sorority.
Maxwell is a retired Delta Township Trustee and former Planning Commissioner for Delta Township. While serving the citizens of the Township, Dorothy was the driving force behind the creation of the Delta Township Community Awards program. She desired to recognize the organizations and individuals that work and serve in our community and make it a great place to live, work and play.

In the past, she also held board leadership positions with the Capital Regional Com­munity Foundation, the Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce, Sparrow Specialty Hospital, and the Metropolitan YMCA of Lansing.

She holds a Master’s Degree in Public Administration and a Government Leadership Certificate.

Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees.

Download the 2017 Event Program

Contact Us
Do you have an idea, question or comment for the Township? Let us know!

Contact Us

7710 West Saginaw Hwy
Lansing MI 48917
Phone: (517) 323-8500
Fax: (517) 323-8599
Monday - Friday:
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.